Nepal Prime Minister Revamps Cabinet After Dissolving Alliance

Prime Minister (PM) of Nepal Pushpa Kamal Dahal reorganized his cabinet yesterday, March 6th, bringing on members from his own party, the Communist Party of Nepal-Maoist Centre (CPN-MC), the Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) and Communist Party of Nepal-United Marxist-Leninist (CPN-UML).

President Ramchandra Paudel swore in sixteen fresh members at the President’s Office, the Sheetal Niwas. On March 4th, the PM appointed three new ministers, and on March 3rd, he ended the fifteen-month alliance with the Nepali Congress (NC), also releasing a ruling that involved the CPN-UML and other parties.

Four ministers from PM Dahal’s political party, CPN-MC, were assigned, in addition to seven more from CPN-UML, three from RSP, and two from Communist Party of Nepal-Unified Socialist (CPN-UF). Currently, the PM controls the health and personnel portfolios, forests, and the environment. Some parties will not join the new coalition, citing skepticism regarding the new leadership’s scuffles with NC.

According to Nepal’s Constitution, Dahal must seek a vote of confidence within 30 days due to NC withdrawing support from the government.