Canada Imposes Second Round of Sanctions on Individuals and Entities over West Bank Violence

The Canadian government has issued a second round of sanctions targeting seven individuals and five entities over violence in Judea and Samaria. All of the names and entities appear to be Israeli citizens and Israeli organizations linked to settler activities in the West Bank. The announcement reads below:

The names of the individuals added to the schedule of these regulations are the following:

  • Ben Zion Gopstein
  • Daniella Weiss
  • Einan Ben-Nir Amram Tanjil
  • Elisha Yered
  • Ely Federman
  • Meir Mordechai Ettinger
  • Shalom Zicherman

The names of the entities added to the schedule of these regulations are the following:

  • Amana
  • Hilltop Youth
  • Lehava
  • Moshe’s Farm
  • Zvi’s Farm

This round expands on the first round of sanctions which was announced on May 16th, 2024 and included:

  • David Chai Chasdai
  • Yinon Levi
  • Zvi Bar Yosef
  • Moshe Sharvit

This annonucement follows United States sanctions against individuals and entities linked to violence in the West Bank which were announced by the Biden Adminsitration in February 2024. These actions attempt to balance western support to the IDF which has been waging war in Gaza since the horrific terrorist attacks of October 7th, 2023.

The Israeli government has made no comment on this round of sanctions as of this publication.