DRC Government Dissolves Following PM’s Resignation

What’s Happening

The Prime Minister of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Jean-Michel Sama Lukonde, has resigned after three years in service as PM, prompting the entirety of the DRC’s government to resign.

The now former PM resigned in accordance with Congolese law, which states that an active parliamentary legislator cannot also be an active minister. Lukonde was first appointed as the PM in 2021. More recently, he was elected to parliament during the DRC’s December 20th 2023 elections, forcing him to choose between one or the other.

Lukonde has stated he is resigning in order to focus on his duties as a member of parliament.

Despite his resignation, and the dissolution of the government in response, DRC President Felix Tshisekedi has requested Lukonde to continue managing the current affairs “taking into account the situation in the country and pending the appointment of the new government”.

Paired with this is a series of restrictions President Tshisekedi has input upon Lukonde’s temporary team, including the suspension “of recruitment, appointments, promotions, and personnel movements”, the suspension of “commitments, liquidations and payments of all public expenditure other than those linked to personnel costs”, the “suspension of service missions outside the country”, and the “prohibition of resorting to cession, transfer, or alienation operations of State assets other than those already undertaken”.

One of Many

Lukonde is just one of many government ministers of President Tshisekedi’s former government that were elected as an MP in the December election. 39 different government ministers were elected, several of which have already resigned from their positions in accordance with the law and to focus on parliamentary duties.

As President Tshisekedi moves to form his new government, it is likely that he will include some of said MP’s that presently hold dual positions, and some of those who may have already resigned, as they are a part of the President’s coalition. Upon appointment back to the government ministries, they will have to resign from parliament.

It is unclear when exactly President Tshisekedi will form his new government, for the beginning of his second term. Serving MP’s are elected for 5 years as is the President, who is on his last of two allowed terms.

Sébastien Gray
Sébastien Gray
Sébastien Gray is a published journalist and historicist with over 5 years experience in writing. His primary focus is on East and West African affairs.


Philippines Receives First Batch of BrahMos Missile

The Acquisition The Philippines Armed Forces (AFP) received its first Brahmos super-sonic anti-ship missile today, April 19th, after arriving from Indian Air Force (IAF) C-17 aircraft. This deal began in...

French Bank to Face Lawsuit Over Alleged Assistance in Sudan Genocide

A US judge has ruled that BNP Paribas, a French bank, is to face a lawsuit for allegedly assisting Sudan's previous dictatorship in carrying out the Darfur Genocide, as...