Political Party of Current Solomon Islands PM Failed to Win Majority in Elections

The political coalition of the current Solomon Islands Prime Minister (PM), Manasseh Sogavare, failed to win a majority in the Parliamentary elections.

The Ownership, Unity, and Responsibility (OUR) Party won 12 seats, with another six still contested, according to an update provided by the Election Commission (EC).

The commission said that the CARE coalition and the United Party, OUR party’s main opposition parties, both won 12 seats each.

However, various independents and minor political parties won the rest of the seats.