Israeli Government Minister Appointees

On December 21st, 2022, Israeli Prime Minister-designate announced he had secured a coalition to form a new government. Since then a flurry of appointments have been made from his own Likud Party, but also Religious Zionism, Otzma Yehudit, Shas, United Torah Judaism and Noam. The following is a list of the appointed ministers since the announcement of and the swearing in yesterday:

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu Likud
Deputy Prime Minister
Minister of Justice
Yariv Levin Likud
Minister of Health
Minister of the Interior and Periphery
Aryeh Deri Shas
Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Avi Dichter Likud
Minister of Aliyah and Integration Ofir Sofer Religious Zionist
Minister of Communications Shlomo Karhi Likud
Minister of Housing and Construction
Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office
Yitzhak Goldknopf United Torah Judaism
Minister of Culture and Sport Miki Zohar Likud
Minister of Defense Yoav Galant Likud
Minister for the Development of the Negev and the Galilee and National Resilience Yitzhak Wasserlauf Otzma Yehudit
Minister of Diaspora Affairs
Minister for Social Equality
Amichai Chikli Likud
Minister of the Economy Nir Barkat (proposed) Likud
Minister of Education
Minister of Regional Cooperation
Yoav Kisch Likud
Minister in the Education Ministry Haim Biton Shas
Minister of Environmental Protection Idit Silman Likud
Minister of Finance
Minister in the Defense Ministry
Bezalel Smotrich Religious Zionist
Minister of Foreign Affairs Eli Cohen Likud
Minister of Heritage Amihai Eliyahu Otzma Yehudit
Minister of Intelligence Gila Gamliel Likud
Minister of Jerusalem Affairs and Jewish Tradition Meir Porush United Torah Judaism
Minister of Labor, Social Affairs, and Social Services Ya’akov Margi Shas
Minister in the Labor, Social Affairs, and Social Services Ministry Yoav Ben-Tzur Shas
Minister of National Infrastructure, Energy, and Water Israel Katz Likud
Minister of National Missions Orit Strook Religious Zionist
Minister of National Security Itamar Ben-Gvir Otzma Yehudit
Minister of Religious Affairs Michael Malchieli Shas
Minister of Science and Technology Ofir Akunis Likud
Minister of Strategic Affairs Ron Dermer Likud
Minister of Tourism Haim Katz Likud
Minister of Transportation Miri Regev Likud
Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office Galit Distel-Atbaryan Likud


Netanyahu’s coalition holds 64 of the 120 seats in the Knesset, with the opposition being led by the Yesh Atid and National Unit parties along with the Arab parties. The Knesset has de jure parliamentary supremacy, and can pass any law by a simple majority, even one that might arguably conflict with the Basic Laws of Israel, unless the basic law includes specific conditions for its modification; in accordance with a plan adopted in 1950, the Basic Laws can be adopted and amended by the Knesset, acting in its capacity as a Constituent Assembly. The Knesset itself is regulated by a Basic Law called “Basic Law: the Knesset”. No single party has ever achieved simple majority, with the closes being the Alignment in the 1969 elections with 56 seats.

United States Military Academy and American Military University Alumni. Victor covers flash military, intelligence, and geo-political updates.


US Removes Cuba From List of Countries Not Fully Opposing Terrorism

The United States officially removed Cuba from a list of countries it deems to not fully oppose terrorism on Wednesday, in a move that may pave the way for...

Kenya’s Haiti Deployment Faces Further Legal Challenges as Police Expected on the Ground Soon

Kenyan opposition politicians have filed yet another legal challenge to Kenya's planned deployment of police to Haiti in order to assist them in regaining control against the many different...