Russian Announces Sanctions On Over A Dozen High-Level U.S Officials

Russian Announces Sanctions On Over A Dozen High-Level U.S Officials


Russia has announced that it will be sanctioning over a dozen high-level U.S. officials, including President Joe Biden, Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin and Secretary of State Antony Blinken. Aimed at restricting their travel to Russia, this new list of travel restrictions includes 13 people, and the foreign ministry said the measures could be expanded “In the near future, new announcements will follow to expand the sanctions list by including top U.S. officials, military, lawmakers, businessmen, experts and media people who are Russophobic or who contribute to inciting hatred against Russia and the introduction of restrictive measures,” the foreign ministry said in a statement according to the WSJ. In response Jen Psaki, White House press secretary responded that [first] “President Biden is a junior, so they may have sanctioned his dad, may he rest in peace… The second piece I would say is—that won’t surprise any of you —that none of us are planning tourist trips to Russia and none of us have bank accounts that we won’t be able to access,” -WSJ. The list included Former U.S Secretary of State Hillary Clinton who responded by thanking the Russian government for including her on the list. “I want to thank the Russian Academy for this Lifetime Achievement Award,” Clinton joked in a Tuesday morning tweet.

Russian sanctions list via RIA Novosti.

The Russian government said the sanctions against Clinton, President Joe Biden, his son Hunter and others included, were reciprocation for those sanctions the U.S. and several other countries have placed on high-level Russian government officials and other prominent figures that would stop them from potentially entering the U.S. or accessing foreign assets. Others included on the list are Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin; Secretary of State Antony Blinken; Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Mark Milley; CIA Director William Joseph Burns; National Security Advisor Jake Sullivan; Deputy National Security Advisor Daleep Singh; Samantha Jane Power, administrator of the U.S. Agency for International Development; Adewale Adeyemo, the first deputy minister of finance; and Reta Jo Lewis, the president of the Export-Import Bank.

Freelance Journalist and Photographer - Internet Sleuth and Aspiring Muckraker - History B.A - Come check out my Telegram and Instagram where I post about OSINT and conflict news daily, links attached.
- Sponsor -spot_img
- Sponsor -spot_img

Week's Top Stories

More In This Category

Potential Warrants from the ICC: What it Means and Reactions

Earlier on May 20th, International Criminal Court (ICC) prosecutor,...

M1 Abrams Gets Slavic Makeover

Photos have emerged online showing an American-supplied, Ukraine-operated M1A1 Abrams...

ICJ Rejects Provisional Measures in Ecuador v Mexico Case

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) ruled on Thursday...

China Coast Guard Deploys “Monster” Vessel to Philippines’ Exclusive Economic Zone

On May 24th, the China Coast Guard (CCG) vessel,...