Proud Boys’ Sentences: Justice Department Appeals Decisions

What You Need To Know:

The Justice Department is contesting and looking to lengthen the prison sentences for four Proud Boys leaders convicted of seditious conspiracy in the U.S. Capitol attack.

U.S. District Judge Timothy Kelly sentenced them to terms ranging from 15 to 22 years, considerably less than what prosecutors had recommended. Enrique Tarrio, the former national leader, received 22 years, though prosecutors sought 33.

The Details:

The recommended sentences for other leaders—Joseph Biggs, Zachary Rehl, and Ethan Nordean—were 33, 30, and 27 years respectively. However, Kelly imposed sentences of 17, 15, and 18 years for them.

Additionally, the Justice Department is appealing the 10-year sentence for Dominic Pezzola, a Proud Boys member from Rochester, New York. Prosecutors had originally sought 20 years. Pezzola was tried alongside the four leaders and, though acquitted of seditious conspiracy, he was convicted of other serious charges.

This comes amid the ongoing appeal of the 18-year prison sentence for Stewart Rhodes, founder of the Oath Keepers, who was convicted of seditious conspiracy in a separate Jan. 6 case. Prosecutors had recommended 25 years, but U.S. District Judge Amit Mehta sentenced him to 18 years.

Week's Top Stories

The Filthy American
The Filthy American
Formerly a resident of Iraqi Kurdistan during the Iraq war, now in the American south. Writing about conflicts, culture, geopolitics and anything I think a reader will find worth reading.